雷市地图Nordical Travel Iceland

首都雷克雅未克

雷克雅未克作为冰岛的首都,有近23万的居住人口,占比超过了全国总人口数(2021年1月:36.9万人)的三分之二! 这座独特的首都以风景如画的房屋和雷克雅未克最著名的教堂—哈格里姆大教堂(Hallgrímskirkja)而闻名,有时也因为其造型而被称为火箭大教堂。

雷克雅未克市区

历史和文化

雷克雅未克这个名字是由首批来自北欧的移民英格尔夫 · 阿纳尔松(Ingólfur Arnarson)在9世纪起的名字。当他们到达这块地区时,看到周围被地热的蒸汽笼罩,然而激发了他的灵感,将这里称为 “冒烟的港湾”。

如今,雷克雅未克已是一座繁荣的小城市,这里的音乐、艺术和戏剧方面有着丰富而充满活力的文化。Airwaves音乐节和Secret Solstice音乐节是冰岛当地极受欢迎的两大音乐盛典,分别在冬季和夏季举行,那时会有来自全球各地的音乐家和听众来一起狂欢。音乐对于冰岛人来说太重要了,而雷克雅未克因此拥有世界上最美丽和独特的音乐厅之一:哈帕音乐厅(Harpa)。

哈帕音乐厅

哈帕音乐厅(Harpa)位于在雷克雅未克的渔港,将其耀眼的灯光秀展示给所有看到它的人们。灯光本身代表了北极光,而其设计精美的窗户看起来就像受到了鱼鳞的启发。

雷克雅未克最著名的教堂归属哈格里姆大教堂(Hallgrímskirkja)了,它位于市中心,是这座城市引人关注的象征。可以乘坐教堂电梯到顶部,欣赏迷人的城市全景。

哈格里姆大教堂

作为首都最具代表性的教堂,由著名的冰岛建筑师Guðjón Samúelsson(1887-1950)操刀设计,用时41年,于1986年正式完工。它的建筑风格的灵感来自于玄武岩柱,在冰岛的大自然中可以找到,例如在东南部的斯瓦蒂瀑布(Svartifoss)。

雷克雅未克有很多值得参观的博物馆。从国家博物馆和到雷克雅未克艺术博物馆、海洋博物馆或冰岛的鲸鱼展馆,深入探索海洋中最大的生物。许多艺术博物馆长期展示冰岛画家和雕塑家的作品,如Einar Jónsson和Ásmundur Sveinsson,他们的作品在整个城市都可以看到。还有一个让人意想不到的阴茎博物馆,如果您有兴趣的话!

美食

雷克雅未克拥有众多出色的餐厅,包括一家米其林星级餐厅,提供流行的菜肴以及使用传统食谱和当地原料的高端北欧美食。

鱼是冰岛人生活中非常重要食物(冰岛是渔业大国,虽然国家很小),其次羊肉也非常丰富,几乎在每个菜单上都很常见。当地流行的菜肴有肉汤(kjötsúpa),即羊肉和蔬菜汤,”plokkfiskur”,即鳕鱼和土豆菜肴,还有鱼干(harðfiskur),发酵鲨鱼(hákarl)和世界闻名的冰岛热狗(强烈推荐)。此外,还有大量适合素食主义者和素食主义者的餐厅可供选择,以及各种各样的国际美食。

雷市美食

虽然这座城市并不大,但雷克雅未克的手工啤酒文化却很浓厚,这里有独立的酿酒厂。大部分酒吧都提供多款的本地啤酒、爱尔啤酒和黑啤酒。在圣诞节、复活节、夏季、万圣节和冰岛等特殊节日时,如Þorrablót(臭食节),冰岛人会经常酿造口味特别的混合啤酒,所以啤酒爱好者在一年中的任何时候尝到不同口味的啤酒!

市区

这是座会让人马上爱上的城市。 市中心地区以购物街Laugavegur和Skólavörðustígur、Tjörnin湖和老港区组成。

在老城区,你将有机会看到当地具有特色的街道和五颜六色的建筑,而Laugavegur购物街则可以淘到当地手工制作的珍品和国际品牌的商店。这里有大量的咖啡馆、餐馆和酒吧,你可以与当地人共同狂欢!

在漫步过程中,你会发现雷克雅未克的所有教堂都是独有风格的。雷克雅未克的所有教堂都是基督教路德教会的,仅有一个罗马天主教教堂。

自然风光

在城市附近有很多徒步旅行路线。例如,我们建议去海湾对面的Esja山(不要错过那座山)看看。

山顶往返大约需要2-4小时。建议最好在夏季进行,因为冬季的天气可能会不可预测。可以选择逃离城市一天,前往鲸鱼峡湾(Hvalfjörður)附近走走,路上你会发现通往冰岛最高的瀑布之一——格里穆尔瀑布(Glymur)的徒步路径。雷市附近的哈哈夫纳夫约杜尔(Hafnarfjörður)是一个漂亮的港口小镇,也是冰岛第三大的城镇。该镇部分地区建在熔岩地带,离雷克雅那半岛的火山系统非常近。

雷克雅未克市内节日

冰岛两个最大的音乐节均在雷克雅未克举办。分别是在夏至和初冬举行的 “The Secret Solstice “和 “Iceland Airwaves“音乐节,不仅吸引了冰岛当地的音乐界大咖,也同时吸引了来自全球各地的优秀艺术家。音乐节主办方非常自信的宣称这是全球内两个 “必须参加 “的音乐节。这座聚集全球人才的小城,给予冰岛多样化的体验。

8月还有文化之夜节(Menningarnótt),会提供大量的艺术器材展示、音乐、游戏和活动,包括每年一度的雷克雅未克马拉松。雷克雅未克在八月初举行同性恋节游行,彩虹街道上会重新粉刷,这是一个充满活力、欢乐和多彩的当地活动。

雷克雅未克虽小,但永远不会感到无聊,你的心将很快被它捕获!

行程推荐

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap

map of Reykjavik Nordical Travel Iceland

The Capital Reykjavík

Nordical Travel, last updated: July 4, 2021

Reykjavík is the nation’s capital, with almost 230,000 people living in the greater capital area. This is over two-thirds of the total population! The lively capital has made a name for itself with picturesque houses, quirky shops, and the most famous of all churches in Reykjavík, Hallgrímskirkja.

Reykjavík downtown

History and Culture

The name itself, Reykjavík, was the name that was given to the city by its founder, Ingólfur Arnarson, in the 9th century. Upon the first glimpse of the area, the geothermal springs and the subsequent steam clouds inspired him to call the area “Smoky Bay”.

Nowadays, Reykjavík is a thriving little town, with a rich and vibrant culture in music, art, and theater. Iceland Airwaves and Secret Solstice are two hugely popular music festivals held in the winter and summer respectively. Music is very important here, and Reykjavík has one of the most beautiful and unique concert halls in the world: Harpa.

Harpa hall

Harpa stands proud on Reykjavík’s harbor, beaming its dazzling light show for all to see. The lights themselves almost appear to represent the Aurora Borealis, and its exquisitely designed windows look as though they are inspired by fish scales. Two things that Iceland has in abundance.

The most famous of all the churches in Reykjavík is Hallgrímskirkja church, located in the middle of town – a beacon and shining symbol of the city. We recommend taking the lift to the top and take in the stunning panorama. You might have to wait in a cue, but it is totally worth it.

Hallgrímskirkja church

There are many churches in Reykjavík, but Hallgrímskirkja church is the most iconic. Its architecture resembles basalt columns, which can be found in Icelandic nature, for example at Svartifoss waterfall in the Southeast. It was designed by the famed state architect Guðjón Samúelsson (1887–1950) and completed in 1986, after a construction phase that lasted 41 years.

There is certainly no shortage of museums in Reykjavík either. From the National Museum and the Settlement Exhibition, where you can see a beautifully preserved early settlement house, to the Reykjavík Art Museum, the Maritime Museum, or the Whales of Iceland exhibition, which features life-size replicas of these sea giants. Many art museums also celebrate Icelandic painters and sculptors such as Einar Jónsson and Ásmundur Sveinsson, whose works can be seen throughout the city. There’s even a penis museum, so you can see that we see the absolute wonder in everything here!

Cuisine in Reykjavík

Reykjavík also boasts a wide array of outstanding restaurants, including one Michelin star winner, offering popular fare as well as high-end Nordic cuisine using twists on traditional recipes and using local ingredients.

Fish features heavily on the Icelandic diet (well, we are an island, you know?) and lamb is plentiful and a very common feature on almost every menu. Popular local dishes that can be found in downtown Reykjavík are meat soup (kjötsúpa), which is a lamb and vegetable broth, “plokkfiskur,” a cod and potato dish, as well as dried fish (harðfiskur), fermented shark (hákarl) and the world-famous Icelandic hot dog (highly recommended). There is also a broad selection of vegetarian and vegan-friendly restaurants, as well as a wide variety of international cuisine available.

food Reykjavik

For such a small city, Reykjavík has many independent breweries and distilleries. There is a very strong craft beer culture, with most bars offering a wide array of local lagers, ales, and stouts. There are many staple favorites, as well as frequent guest brews and seasonal beers on offer, particularly around Christmas, Easter, Summer, Halloween, and special Icelandic celebrations such as Þorrablót. Icelanders often use any excuse to brew up a special concoction, so beer lovers will find themselves right at home any time of the year!

Downtown

The city itself is utterly charming. The downtown area is centered around the shopping streets Laugavegur and Skólavörðustígur, the city pond Tjörnin and the old harbor district.

The old town invites you to take a step back into the past and a chance to see the quiet and characterful streets and colorful buildings, whilst the main shopping street of Laugavegur is full to the brim of stores that promote local, handcrafted treasures and international brands. You will also find a generous offering of cafés, restaurants, and bars which are open until very late.

During a stroll, you will notice that all churches in Reykjavík are completely different from each other, there are no two alike. All the churches in Reykjavík are Lutheran Christian, except for one Roman Catholic church.

Nature

There are hiking routes very close to the city. For example, we recommend paying a visit to Esja, the mountain across the bay (the one you can’t miss).

It takes around 2-4 hours to reach the top and back, depending on how fast or slow you want to go. This is best recommended in the summer months, as the winter can be deceptively dangerous and unpredictable if you pick the wrong day. You can go a little further into Hvalfjörður (Whale Fjord) to escape the city for the day, and here you will find the hiking trail to Glymur, one of Iceland’s tallest waterfalls. It is also a short hop to nearby Hafnarfjörður, a pretty little town with a beautiful harbor area and the third-largest town in Iceland. It is also quite special because the town is partially built in a lava field and is very close to the volcanic systems of the Reykjanes peninsula.

Festivals in Reykjavík

The two biggest music festivals in the Icelandic calendar happen in Reykjavík. The Secret Solstice and Iceland Airwaves, which take place at the summer equinox and early winter, respectively, attract not only the biggest names in Icelandic music but also major global artists from around the world. These extremely popular music festivals have proudly staked their claim as being two of the “must attend” music festivals in the world. People from all over visit Reykjavík to experience Iceland’s diverse, local talent.  

August also sees Menningarnótt (Culture Night) which offers a plethora of art installations, music, games, and activities, including the annual Reykjavík Marathon. Reykjavík Pride also takes place in early August and sees the renewed painting on the rainbow streets and the ever-popular Pride Parade, a vibrant, joyous, and colorful experience. 

Reykjavík really has it all, you will never be bored, and it captures the hearts of all who visit it!

Related Tours: