Map of west iceland nordical travel

冰岛西部 & 斯奈山

内容最新更新时间:7月 20, 2021

冰岛西部是我们重点想推荐的地区。整个区域以及斯奈菲尔斯半岛都秘藏了许多你从未见过的自然美景。

冰岛西部

当你从博尔加内斯镇出发时,可以选择走一条海底隧道,或者绕道一小时进入赫瓦夫约尔(鲸鱼峡湾)。在峡湾的最深处,你会发现通往格利穆尔瀑布的小路。这条小路只在夏天开放,距离雷克雅未克不远的其中一条。

不管你是走隧道还是开车到赫夫约尔,你都可以选择去阿克拉内斯玩玩。这是一座可爱的小渔镇,拥有一条美丽的海滩,古老的灯塔作为拍照打卡的最佳位置。接着你可以继续向博尔加内斯(Borgarnes)前行,这是埃吉尔-斯卡拉格里姆森(Egill Skallagrímson)的老家和落叶归根的地方。埃吉尔身兼战士和诗人的身份,也是首批来到冰岛的定居者之一。如果你对冰岛影响力最大的历史人物感兴趣,我们建议你去布扎达鲁尔(Búðardalur)和莱夫-埃里克森中心(Leif Eiriksson Center)。

如果你想继续探索更多的新奇之地,那么你可以去博格菲尤尔(Borgarfjörður)地区,那里坐落了两个有名的瀑布景点:Hraunfossar(熔岩瀑布)和Barnafoss(儿童瀑布)。熔岩瀑布Hraunfossar很特别,因为它是受Langjökull朗格冰川的冰融水,通过多孔的熔岩过滤一轮,再被氧化,形成了独树一帜的电蓝色。紧挨着熔岩瀑布的是儿童瀑布Barnafoss,你肯定再想为什么取名为“儿童瀑布”,而这背后存在着一个悲剧性传说。

Deildartunguhver是欧洲最大的温泉地区,Krauma浴场在这里属于很受欢迎的地方,因为我们可以直接在水源头中享受温暖、放松的泡澡。你也可以走一小段路到胡萨费尔的峡谷浴场,这是在大自然中采用斯诺拉罗格(Snorralaug)最原始的方式建造的沐浴体验地。斯诺里-斯图鲁森Snorri Sturluson是冰岛的酋长、历史学家、政治家和诗人,而雷克霍尔特Reykholt是他的安息之地。

Húsafell是可以进入欧洲第二大冰川—朗格冰川Langjökull的地方。我们可以直接前往冰川本身,以及底下的冰川隧道,近距离观摩冰川世界。

斯奈菲尔斯半岛(Snæfellsnes)

西边是斯奈菲尔斯半岛。你将绕过层状火山–斯奈菲尔斯火山(Snæfellsjökull),而这座火山曾在1864年儒勒-凡尔纳的经典小说《地心游记》中火了。

在这里,你还可以参观伊特里-汤加(Ytri-tunga),这是一个很好玩的海豹观察地。海豹宝宝们经常在这里集合玩耍,虽然它们对游客不排斥,但我们也要保持安全距离。接着,你可以继续前往阿纳斯塔皮(Arnarstapi),在那里会看到一座经典地标,那便是巴尔扎尔-斯奈菲尔斯(Barðar Snæfellsás)的纪念碑,他是半巨人,也是斯奈菲尔斯半岛的保护神。

Vatnshellir洞穴也是我们想推荐的。这里有一根8000年历史的熔岩管。熔岩管是在火山爆发后的熔岩流动中形成的。随着顶层熔岩的变硬,中间的熔岩继续流动,最终排泄出去。而如今留给我们的是一座纯天然的地下熔岩城堡。

Djúpalónssandur是冰岛的另一块黑色海滩区域,你可以找到一颗Dritvík石头,有趣的是,你可能举不起来,很多人都尝试过,但很少有人会成功。

草帽山Kirkjufell(教堂山)是 “冰岛内被拍摄最多的山”,它的外形特征很明显,远看就像一顶草帽。它曾作为HBO剧集《权力的游戏》中的 “箭头山 “获得了全球关注。这座山傲然挺立,再加上附近超美的Kirkjufellsfoss瀑布,哪怕是不爱拍照的人都会被诱惑到想拍两张。

斯奈山Snæfellsnes也被誉为 “小冰岛”,这里就可以见到所有冰岛内的地形。如果你只想花一天的时间浏览冰岛全身,那就直接预订斯奈山一日游吧。

臭鲨鱼和冰岛本土烈酒(Black Death)

在这个半岛上还有很多迷人可爱的小镇,比如Ólafsjörður、Grundarfjörður和Stykkishólmur。你还可顺便参观比亚纳霍芬鲨鱼博物馆。

这里也是品尝哈卡尔(hákarl)的好地方,相信你们也有对冰岛的鲨鱼肉罐头略知一二,鲨鱼来自格陵兰岛,经过特殊的加工和风干处理才能食用,不然它的肉是有毒的。之所以有名是因为它有一股很刺激的味道(比如中国的臭豆腐)。传统上,人们在吃它的时候会喝上一杯当地的Aquavit,Brennivín或 “Black Death”烈酒。

鲨鱼肉罐头和黑死病酒的名字可能听上去有点吓人,但我们很建议大家可以大胆体验一下!

行程推荐

Map of west iceland nordical travel

West Iceland & Snæfellsnes

Nordical Travel, last updated: July 20, 2021

The West of Iceland is highly recommended, and even if you are only staying in Reykjavík, you can explore this region as well the western peninsula of Snaefellsnes.

West Iceland

As you head towards the town of Borgarnes, you have the choice of taking the tunnel underneath the sea, or we recommend taking a one-hour detour into Hvalfjörður (whale fjord). At the fjord’s deepest part, you will find the trail to Glymur, one of Iceland’s tallest waterfalls. This trail opens in the summer and is one of the trails we recommend that is within a short driving distance from Reykjavík.

Whether you take the tunnel or drive in and out of Hvalfjörður, you can then choose to visit Akranes. This is a small fishing town with a nice beach and its old lighthouse offering a perfect photo opportunity. You can then continue to Borgarnes, the home and final resting place of Egill Skallagrímson. Egill was a warrior and poet, and one of the first settlers to Iceland. If you are interested in Iceland’s most famous historical figures, then we recommend you take the trip to Búðardalur and the Leif Eiriksson Center. There you can learn about how Greenland and the shores of America were first discovered, long before Christopher Columbus!

Lighthouse West Iceland

If you decide to travel more inland, then you can head to the Borgarfjörður region, and its two most famous waterfalls, Hraunfossar (Lava Falls) and Barnafoss (Childrens Falls). Hraunfossar is unique because the meltwater from Langjökull glacier filters through the porous lava rock. This oxidizes the water and turns it into a beautiful, electric blue. Next to Hraunfossar is Barnafossa dramatic waterfall with a tragic legend behind it.

Deildartunguhver is the largest hot spring region in Europe, and the baths at Krauma are a popular place to enjoy a warm, relaxing soak in water directly from the source. You can also take a short walk to the Canyon Baths at Húsafell, a bathing experience recently constructed in the nearby nature, using the same old methods that constructed Snorralaug, the small pool at the center Snorrastofa in Reykholt. Snorri Sturluson was an Icelandic chieftain, historian, politician, and poet, and Reykholt is his resting place. 

Húsafell is where you can access the glacier of Langjökull, the second-largest glacier in Europe. It is possible to take a trip into the glacier itself, and the crafted ice tunnels below, to learn all about how glaciers form.

Ice cave West Iceland

Snæfellsnes (Snaye-fell-snes)

To the west is the Snæfellsnes peninsula. You will travel around the stratovolcano, Snæfellsjökull, which was first made world-famous in literature in the 1864 classic Jules Verne novel, Journey to the Center of the Earth. 

Here, you can also visit Ytri-tunga, a popular place to go seal spotting. They frequently gather here and don’t seem particularly bothered by visitors, as long as you keep a safe distance. You can continue to Arnarstapi, where you will be greeted by a monument to Barðar Snæfellsás, a half-man, half-giant, and the protector of the Snæfellsnes peninsula.

Vatnshellir cave is a recommended stop on your journey. This is an 8000-year-old lava tube. Lava tubes are created during a volcanic eruption and subsequent lava flow. As the top layer of lava hardens, the lava in the center continues to flow and eventually drains away. What you are left with is a subterranean labyrinth of lava rock chambers. 

Djúpalónssandur is another of Iceland’s black beaches, where you will also find the stones of Dritvík. Here, you can test your strength by attempting to lift them. Many have tried, few have succeeded.

Black beach West Iceland

Kirkjufell is known as “the most photographed mountain in Iceland”, for reasons that become obvious when you arrive. Recently, it has gained more popularity as the “Arrowhead Mountain” in the HBO series, “Game of Thrones” The mountain stands proud, and with the beautiful Kirkjufellsfoss nearby, it makes for an irresistible photo opportunity. 

Rotten Shark and Black Death

There are many charming towns in this peninsula, for example, Ólafsjörður, Grundarfjörður, and Stykkishólmur. You can also visit the Bjarnarhöfn shark museum.

This is the best place to try hákarl, the infamous fermented shark. The shark itself is normally a Greenland shark, which must be specially processed and dried before it can be consumed. Otherwise, its meat is poisonous. After this process, it can then be safely consumed, but the question is, do you want to? It has an extremely powerful taste and aroma of ammonia. It is traditionally eaten with a shot of the local aquavit, Brennivín or “Black Death”.

Rotten shark and Black Death may sound ominous, but we do recommend trying it for the bragging rights alone!

 

Snæfellsnes is referred to as “Iceland in Miniature” because it contains all the things that make Iceland so special in one location. If you are looking for an alternative day tour to add to your schedule, you really cannot go wrong with this incredible region of Iceland. 

Better yet, why directly book one of our Guided Tours that explore magnificent West Iceland.

Related Tours: